Press Enter to skip to main content,
or keep pressing Tab key no navigate
TSU-logo COSET-logo

2013 COST Awards Ceremony

“Acceleration for the Next Generation,” was the theme for the 2013 COST Annual Awards and End of the Year Program that was held on April 25, 2013, 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM in the Texas Southern University Science Center Atrium. Dr. Oscar Criner welcomed the Honorees and guests and Mrs. Dolly Spencer presented the occasion of the day.

All enjoyed the musical entertainment provided by DJ Bluetooth from the beginning with the musical prelude to the end with great music for dancing. In addition we had the pleasure of a Violin Solo by Alex Jackson and a dance performance by the R. A. A.W. Dance Team.

Dr. Azime Saydam began the Awards Ceremony by presenting the College Excellence Awards to Jason Rosenzweig, Distinguished Researcher of the Year; Bobby Wilson, Distinguished Service Award; Charlotte S. Whaley, Distinguished Staff of the Year and Alfonso Arteaga, Distinguished Undergraduate Student of the Year.

Dr. Lei Yu presented the Dean’s Leadership Awards and Special Recognition. Dean’s Leadership Awards recipients were A. Serpil Saydam, Efficiency and Dedication; Aladdin Sleem, Program Assessment; Audrey Player, Undergraduate Advisement; Grievance Committee for Faculty and Students Chair: Carol Lewis, Members: Fawzia Abdel-Rahman, Daniel Bessis, Yuanjian Deng, Nancy Glenn, J. Mohsen Javadian, Jonathan Lewis, Rasoul Saneifard, Yi Qi, Mark Sherman, Shishir Shishodia, Graham Thomas; Rank, Tenure and Promotion Committee Chair: Marian Hillar, Members: Daniel Bessis, Shahryar Darayan, J. Jonathan Lewis, Fengxiang Qiao, Mahmoud Saleh, Tarsem Singh, Willie Taylor; Lulueua A. Nasser, Dedicated Service to Students; Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA), Student Organization of the Year, President: Chi-Tam Nguyen; Sioban Tarver, Outstanding Services to the Recruitment at Northwest Campus; Dean’s Student Advisory Council, Outstanding Services to the College Co-Chairs: Rachel Guthrie and Chi Tam Nguyen; Dean’s Special Recognitions were University Award Recipients: 2013 Distinguished Service Award; Bobby Wilson, and 2013 Scholarly research/Creative Activities Award; Fengxiang Qiao; and Retirements of Della Bell, Mathematics, James Ginn, Mathematics, and Sunday Fadulu, Biology.

Dr. Yu also made Special Recognition of members of the COST Open House/Event Committee and the faculty and staff who participated in the Annual Faculty/Staff Campaign for the University. The COST received the Total Achievement Award for reaching 100% participation and monetary goals, the Outstanding Accomplishment Award for raising the most money, $23,429.00, and Dolly Spencer received the Ambassador Tiger Award medal for reaching 100% participation and monetary goals.

Dr. Desirée Jackson presented the Departmental Outstanding Student Awards, Dean’s Student Advisory Council Recognitions, College Student Ambassadors Recognitions, Student Scholarship Recognitions, and Special Student Recognition.

Mrs. Dolly Spencer presented 2012 Homecoming Recognitions from COST. A trophy was awarded each winner for: WalkingUnit-2nd Place, Trucks/Cars-1st Place Cost Alumni Association, Campus Floats-1st Place, Campus Office Decoration – 3rd Place (#157) and Campus Door Decoration -1ST Place (Dean’s Office)

After a special drawing for faculty, five iPads were presented to the winners by Dr. Shishir Shishodia. The program ended with dancing, games, and activities.