Press Enter to skip to main content,
or keep pressing Tab key no navigate
TSU-logo COSET-logo

COST Chapter of TSU National Alumni Association Established

On March 2, 2011, Marcus Davis, President of Texas Southern University National Alumni Association (TSUNAA) formally recognized COST as an official chapter of the TSUNAA.  Prior to the TSUNAA business meeting held that evening, a reception was held in honor of COST and College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (COPH) which satisfied the requirements to receive chapter certification.  The process for COST started on May 9, 2010, with an unsuspecting email from Dr. Lei Yu inviting representatives recommended from the various COST department chairs to participate on a steering committee formed to establish a College of Science and Technology, (COST) Chapter of TSU Alumni Association.  The first committee meeting was held on June 9, 2010 at 12:00-1:30 p.m. in the Science Center.  It was during this meeting that enthusiasm was roused and commitments to complete the task were fashioned. Leading the committee to its success was Mr. Perry Miller – Steering Committee Chair, Steering Committee Co-Chairs, Ms. Roben Armstrong and Ms. LaKeisha Melton, and a host of COST professors and graduates. Professor Paul Simmons, COST Advisory Board and Ms. Connie Cochran, Director of Alumni Relations deserve special mention for their efforts in providing leadership and guidance for the establishment of the COST Alumni Chapter.   COST membership requirements are:  graduation with a degree from one of the COST departments, satisfy requirements for TSUNAA membership, completion of a COST membership application and $50 annual membership dues.  The COST Steering Committee will continue meeting until chapter officers and by-laws consistent with TSUNAA requirements have been established.

Paul Simmons and Perry Miller
March 14, 2011